

December 29, 2017

Tourism Victoria announces 2018 Board of Directors

VICTORIA – Tourism Victoria is pleased to announce its <u>2018 Board of Directors</u>, whose term officially begins Jan. 1, 2018.

There will be three new faces at the table.

Indu Brar, General Manager of the Fairmont Empress Hotel, has been elected to the Board by Tourism Victoria's members. Victoria Councillor Geoff Young has been appointed as the City of Victoria's representative for 2018, while Moira Hauk joins as the appointed representative of the Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce.

2018 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Chair: Starr McMichael, Starrboard Enterprises

Vice Chair: Kimberley Hughes, Delta Ocean Pointe Resort and Spa

Vice Chair: Darlene Hollstein, The Bay Centre Vice Chair: Erika Stenson, Royal B.C. Museum Vice Chair: Suzanne Gatrell, The Oswego Hotel Past Chair: Bill Lewis, The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Director: Christine Willow, Chemistry Consulting Group

Director: Geoff Dickson, Victoria Airport Authority

Director: Allison Fairhurst, Abigail's Hotel **Director**: Brett Soberg, Eagle Wing Tours

Director: Tom Benson, WildPlay Element Parks

Director: Indu Brar, Fairmont Empress

Director: Janet Docherty, Tourism Vancouver Island

Director: Moira Hauk, Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce

Director: Judy Brownoff, District of Saanich

Director: Geoff Young, City of Victoria



About Starr McMichael

The chair of Tourism Victoria's 2018 Board of Directors describes herself as a Specialized Generalist, having led a successful career as an executive vice-president/owner/managing-partner in the marine hospitality, tourism, food and beverage and event management industries.

Starr's board involvement spans decades. She has been the past chair of the Victoria Hospitals Foundation and the Greater Victoria Film Commission. Before taking on the role of Chair with Tourism Victoria, Starr served as First Vice-Chair and Chair of the Transportation and Destination Management Committee. She has also served the Greater Victoria Harbour Authority as Board Secretary and Chair of the Governance and Nominating Committee. Starr is a recipient of the C-FAX Community Leader of the Year Award, and is a recent graduate of the ICD-Rotman, Directors Education Program (DEP), which provides education on the elements of effective governance including strategic performance, financial performance, human performance and risk management. Starr currently chooses to consult on projects that contribute to the greater good for our communities. Her passion is speaking to groups about leadership of one's life, in partnership and as a contributing member to the societies we live in.

Tourism Victoria (Greater Victoria Visitors and Convention Bureau) is our region's official, not-for-profit destination marketing organization working in partnership with nearly 1,000 businesses and municipalities in Greater Victoria.

MEDIA CONTACT: Jim Zeeben

Manager, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs, Tourism Victoria

250 414-6976 or 250 213-8050 jim.zeeben@tourismvictoria.com